MPs Reject Creation Of 15 More Constituencies

The Minister for Local Government yesterday had a torrid experience in parliament after Members of Parliament threw out his motion to have 15 counties created in the new Financial year 2020/21.


Raphael Magyezi had come to the August House to have MPs ratify the creation of 15 more constituencies as passed by Cabinet.


The House however degenerated into a market when a host of MPs struggled for the microphone to shoot down Magyezi’s motion.


Majority of the MPs like Okumu Reagan, Tororo’s Nyaketcho and MP Angura accused the Minister of being sectarian in awarding new constituencies.


Speaker Rebecca Kadaga’s efforts to have the motion voted on fell on deaf ears after MPs variously accused the Minister of deliberately refusing to consider earlier requests.



The Members of Parliament from Tororo also rose up in arms challenging the Minister to present a motion to alter boundaries between the proposed Tororo District being pushed by Iteso and West Budama District.


MP Fredrick Angura of Tororo County and Annet Nyaketcho of Tororo County North asked the Speaker to ensure that when Minister Magyezi retables motion for establishment of new constituencies, the Tororo issue must be inclusive.


Consequently the Speaker deferred debate on the proposal for the creation of new counties, giving the Minister of Local Government three weeks to address concerns raised by Members of Parliament (MPs).


Some MPs were concerned that the Ministry deliberately granted recent proposals for counties at the expense of those presented earlier. They say that this goes against the principle of fairness and equity.


The 15 new counties will have their representatives considered by Parliament immediately – starting July 1. The decision was approved by parliament last week.


The new constituencies are, Kiboga West, Buhweju West, Lamwo East, Bugangaizi South, Chekwi East, West Budama Central, Buwekula South, Kwania North, Kagoma North, Buyanja East, Ngariam, Agago West, Bukanga North, Bukimbiri and Nakaseke Central.


The West Budama Central County is to be curved out of West Budama South County in Tororo District.


The new West Budama Central County is to consist of Mulanda Sub-County, Mello Sub-County, Pajwenda Sub-County, Siwa Sub-County, Nabuyoga Sub-County and Nabuyoga Town Council.


The old West Budama South constituency will consist of Rubongi Sub-County, Magola Sub-County, Iyolwa Sub-County, Nyangole Sub-County, Osia Sub-County, Ojilai Sub-County and Iyolwa Town Council.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights