FULL ANALYSIS: How Eastern Uganda Voted City Mayors, LCV Chairpersons

NRM Takes Lion's Share

Compiled By Markson Omagor


(Additional reporting by Judith Nasenya, Olivier Nakanwagi, Julius Wetondo, John Ogulei & Solomon Hamala)





Teso has a divided vote in yesterday’s concluded City Mayor and LCV Chairpersons’ elections.


Soroti City

FDC’s Joshua Edogu beat off stiff competition from Mr. Michael Engunyu (NRM), the current LC5 chairperson for Soroti. Others are Peter Ojur (Independent) Francis Esudu Obonyo (Independent) Mr Lambert Ebitu (DP) and NUP’s Elias Ejoku.

Edogu scored 6964 votes beating NRM’s Egunyu who got 6788. NUP’s Ejoku came last with 383 votes.


Soroti district

Meanwhile Soroti district LCV seat was won by NRM’s Simon Peter Edoru.


Serere district

The Serere LCV chair went to another Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) candidate, Steven Ochola. Ochola was one of the FDC Party members who had left the Party for Mugisha Muntu’s Alliance for National Transformation (ANT). He however, later saw ‘the light’ and went back to FDC.


Ngora district


By the time we went to press, Odongo Mike Lo’Asio an independent candidate was in the lead. The incumbent Ben Eumu contested for Member of Parliament Kapir County and lost.


Kumi district

This seat currently held by Christine Apolot who opted to contest for Kumi Woman Member of Parliament has been won by Elungat Nelson Emerekek of the National Resistance Movement (NRM) Party. Apolot also managed to beat NRM’s Aporu Akol Christine for the District Woman MP.


Bukedea district

An Independent, Olemukan Moses is the declared winner after trouncing NRM’s William Wilberforce Tukei. In the last year’s NRM Party primaries, Olemukan lost to Tukei. Olemukan however accused Tukei of voter intimidation and vote rigging. In fact Olemukan declared that he had left the NRM Party.


Amuria district


Amuria was taken by an independent candidate, Moses Emabu who beat NRM’s Okello Okello.


Katakwi district


NRM suffered a big blow in Katakwi after its candidate Joseph Opul lost to an Independent but FDC leaning candidate, Godfrey Omollo. Omollo also beat the FDC Flag bearer, Paul Ongoet.




Kapelebyong district


Francis Akorikin of NRM is the new LCV chairman for this district. Meanwhile Victor Ekesu also of NRM took Kaberemaido district.


Kalaki District 


Like Kapelebyong and Kaberemaido, Kalaki was also taken by an NRM candidate, Samuel Okello.






Cassim Namugali is Mbale City Lord Mayor

Mbale City


Mbale City Lord Mayor is Cassim Namugali of Forum for Democratic Change (FDC). He beat off stiff competition from NRM’s Vincent Magombe who got 11,531 votes.


The incumbent, Zandya Mutwalib who contested as an Independent after losing to Namugali in the Party primaries came a distant fourth with 5526.




Mbale District


Mafabi Muhammad, an independent is the Mbale District Chairperson elect 2021-25. Mafabi polled 17887 beating his closest challenger, Namasa Alfred of FDC who got 15249. Meanwhile NRM’s Watenyeli Apollo came third with 11, 572.


Manafwa district

Manafwa district was taken by NRM’s Kimono Kigai who contested against Harriet Nandutu (Independent).


Sironko district


Like in parliamentary elections where FDC took both Budadiri West (Nathan Nandala) and Budadiri East (Isaiah Sasaga), the LCV seat is likely going to another FDC Candidate.


By the time we went to press, Giruli David Livingstone (FDC) was leading by over 10,000 votes. Other contestants were NRM’s Nabende Guga and NUP’s Wasukira.


Bududa district


NRM took Bududa district after electing its flag bearer, Milton Kamoti Wasuguyi.


Namisindwa district

Jackson Wakwika of the National Resistance Movement (NRM) is the declared winner.


Iganga district


Ezra Gabula, NRM flag bearer was voted LCV Iganga

Long serving NRM mobilizer Ezra Gabula has been declared winner of the LC 5 polls Iganga district.


Gabula a veteran politician and NRM moblizer in Busoga sub region got 25,269 votes, followed by Sinani Wakinyankali independent with 20,639 votes, Isabirye Shabiru FDC got 3829, Nasser Kongola NUP, 3428, James Mawanda independent 1002, Paul Luganda independent 569,George Swaaga independent 916, Sylivia Kateme the only female contestant with 307 votes.


Gabula was declared winner of the polls by the district returning officer Iganga, Mercy Ataho at around 2.30 a.m today morning amidst cheers and ululations from supporters who had braved the heavy rain downpour outside the tallying center to get the final results.


While speaking to the media shortly after, Gabula thanked the people of Iganga for the tremendous support given to him despite being a short person.




Bugiri district                                                      


Results coming from Bugiri indicate that Marijani Azalwa has retained his seat.


Jinja City

Peter Kasolo, a candidate for the National Unity Platform has been declared winner of the Jinja City Mayoral Race. He polled 11,899 votes, to defeat Frank Nabwiso of the Forum for Democratic Change -FDC who scored 10, 398 votes and Robert Kanusu of the National Resistance Movement who had 9,810 votes.

The other candidate Ivan Tibenkana, of the Democratic Party polled 8,327 votes, Alliance for National Transformation-ANT’s Rose Kalembe got 364 votes, and independent candidates; Julius Zziwa scored 1,802 votes, Mohamed Ntuyo had 592 votes, Joseph Bamwite polled 259 votes, Joseph Agaba 203 votes, and Jeff Bidandi 290 votes.


NRM swept the districts of Kamuli, Luuka and Buyende. In Kamuli, Maxwell Mugudde Kuwuwembula took the seat, while Wakaze Simon took Luuka as Michael Kanaku took Buyende district.



Leave a Reply

Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights