EC Reveals Categories to Be Filled In Local Gov’t Councils By-Elections

By Our Reporter




A person with disability casting his vote


The Electoral Commission is implementing the programme for by-elections for Local Government Councils in various electoral areas across the country where vacancies exist.


According to EC, the categories to be filled during these by-elections include the following:


1) District Chairperson (Kayunga District)


2) District Women Councilors (DWC)


3) District Directly Elected Councilors (DDEC)


4) Municipality Directly Elected Councilors (MDEC)


5) Municipality Women Councilors (MWC)


6) Sub-county Chairpersons (SCCP)


7) Sub-county Directly Elected Councilors (SCDEC)


8) Sub-County Women Councilors (SCWEC)


9) Special Interest Groups (SIGs) Councilors, that include:-


  1. a) PWDs


  1. b) Older Persons


  1. c) Workers


  1. d) Youth


“The various activities related to the by-elections commenced   this October, 2021 and will conclude with Polling and Tallying of Results on Wednesday 15th, December, 2021 (for SIGs) and Thursday, 16th December, 2021 for Kayunga District Chairperson and other Local Government Councils,” EC says.

Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights