JUST IN: President Museveni Appoints 3 New Justices to Supreme Court, 1 To Court Of Appeal

By Our Reporter




President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has appointed three (3) Justices to the Supreme Court and one to the Court of Appeal.


The appointments are contained in a 31st October, 2022 letter written to the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Anita Among.

Appointment of new Justices of the Supreme Court

The three Justices appointed to the Supreme Court are Madrama Christopher Izama, Musota Stephen and Elizabeth Musoke while the Court of Appeal Justice is Oscar John Kihika.


Madrama Christopher Izama, Musota Stephen and Elizabeth Musoke have been court of Appeal judges.


The appointments follow recommendation by the Judicial Service Commission.


“In Exercise of powers vested in the President by article 142 (1) by the 1995 constitution, I have acting on the advice of the Judicial Service Commission appointed persons listed below as Justices of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeal,” Museveni’s letter reads in part.

The three new appointments to the Supreme Court join 8 others led by the Chief Justice to constitute the constitutional quorum of 11.


The others are; Chief Justice, Hon. Justice Alfonse Chigamoy Owiny-Dollo, Justice Dr. Esther Kisaakye Kitimbo, Hon. Lady Justice Stella Arach-Amoko, Hon. Justice Rubby Aweri Opio, Hon. Lady Justice Faith Essy Mwondha, Hon. Lady Justice Prof. Lillian Tibatemwa Ekirikubinza, Hon. Lady Justice Percy Night Tuhaise, and Hon. Justice Mike Chibita.


Meanwhile, Justice Kihika joins, Richard Buteera (Deputy Chief Justice) and head of the Court of Appeal, Martin Stephen Egonda-Ntende,   Remmy Kasule, Irene Mulyagonja, Kenneth Kakuru, Monica Mugenyi and Geoffrey Kiryabwire.


Others are; Hellen Obura, Catherine Bamugemereire, Barishaki Cheborion,Simon Mugenyi Byabakama (On secondment to Uganda Electoral Commission), and Muzamiru Kibeedi Mutangula.



Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights