LocalMain TesoNews

Katakwi Members of Parliament Fight over Government Funded Projects

By Our Reporter




There is a big fight amongst directly elected Members of Parliament of Katakwi district over government funded projects.


The fight came to the open on Friday, 11th August 2023 when a special council meeting was called to revoke the construction of Ngariam Sub County Technical School and Okore Sub County Seed Secondary School. Both institutions are in Ngariam County represented by Peter Ogwang.


The Usuk and Toroma MPs attempted to grab, the two UGIF projects that were lobbied by their counterpart of Ngariam county Peter Ogwang.


Koluo Joseph for Toroma and Bosco Okiror for Usuk said, Ngariam sub county technical school and Okore sub county seed secondary school should be removed from Ngariam and be divided among Toroma and Usuk counties.


Bosco Okiror said, the schools were fraudulently diverted from their counties to Ngariam County.


The emergency council meeting was called for by the clerk to council, Simon peter Esidai with the aim of revoking the construction of Okore sub county seed school and Ngariam sub-county Technical school on Friday 11th August 2023.


The council was full in attendance and the district chairman was represented by his vice chairperson Joseph Ecuman, the CAO Patrick Olila, DPC and other stakeholders.


The construction of the above schools amounts to over four billion shillings (4B) which come from Ministry of Finance under UGIF project.


The lobbying was done by Peter Ogwang, the State Minister for Education and sports.


“I don’t divert things, it’s the work of the MPs to lobby and when you go to parliament and sleep then you’re finished,” Minister Ogwang revealed to this website.


He said, Ngariam Technical School was part of the President’s pledge for remembrance of the 21 people killed by the Karamojong in 2001. He also argued that, for a seed school it’s a government policy for each sub county to have it and that is why Toroma is currently having a seed secondary school under construction.


Meanwhile, the Deputy Speaker of Katakwi Council, Hon. Tukei Majeri, through a usuk councilor Raphael Ojakal and a few others chased the media out of council.


“Media should get out and police must help us put the journalists out. I’m told they are down recording what’s happening up here” Tukei said.


Among the journalists chased were; Eddy Enuru of NBS, Godfrey Ojore New vision, Benjamin Epeduno for Joshua radio, Noah Omuya and Francis Ocen for TV east and Etop radio.


Some LC3s of Katakwi district said the move to relocate the schools would be good but too late because, the lobbying is always done at the centre where MPs seat.


Councilors like Abur Betty for Palam, Imalingat Margaret for Okore castigated the chasing of media.


The council voted Okore to have a seed secondary school while Toroma will receive a Technical school.


On 30th March 2021, the Permanent Secretary Minister of education and sports Alex Kakoza wrote to Katakwi District CAO instructing him to consider the construction of the above schools of Ngariam County.

The copy was given to the First lady and Minister of Education and sports Janet Kataha Museveni, the Information State Minister then, and Ngariam county MP Peter Ogwang and the Chairperson for Katakwi.



Recently, the district council sat to revoke the construction of Akoboi sub county health facility (upgrade) but was later implemented and its construction is steadily moving.


The seed secondary schools under construction in Ngariam County include; Akoboi and Getom, Okore Sub County to be constructed this financial year. Those finished are Palam and Ngariam.

Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights