OPM Donates Relief Items to 14 Sub Counties in Manafwa

By Weswa Ronnie




All 14 sub counties in Manafwa district which were disaster hit last year have received food and non food relief items donated by the government of Uganda under the office of the prime minister.


According to Kosea Kimono, the LCV chairperson of Manafwa district, the affected sub counties are Bugobero, Butoto, Bunabutsale, Buwagogo, Kato, Weswa among others.


While speaking on Monday at Manfwa district head office during the flagging off of relief items to beneficiaries, Kimono says that the items will be given to affected families only from the respective sub counties.


He adds that last year heavy rains and landslides destroyed crops and houses of people from 14 sub counties which forced them to lobby for relief from the office of prime minister through Minister of Karamoja Affairs, Mary Kitutu Goretti who is also Manafwa district Woman Member of Parliament.


Meanwhile, Kitutu urged the sub county LCIII  chairpersons and sub county chiefs from the respective sub counties to give items to affected people.


She says that as government they have managed to support affected people with that little but they are still having plans of relocating people living in disaster prone areas in the districts of Bududa, Manafwa, Namisindwa, Sironko, Mbale and Bulambuli.


David Kutosi, LCIII chairperson of Butoto and Kamoto Wanyeze LCIII of Kato sub county have expressed their happiness with the support saying distribution is going to kick off on Tuesday.


They urged the government to expedite the process of relocating people living in disaster prone areas so that people can not die again.


Manafwa got 13,000 kilograms of posho flour, 6,500 kilograms of beans and 300 taupelines.

Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights