BUDUDA: District Council Elects New Committee Chairpersons

By Weswa Ronnie




Bududa district council on Wednesday, 17th January elected new committee chairpersons after the expiry of the two and half year’s term of the previous chairpersons.


Alex Namalala, councillor representing Buwali Sub County walloped the incumbent, Peace Nakuti from Bushiribo Sub County after getting 21 votes against Nakuti’s 19 for the Chairmanship of the Finance and Social Services Committee.


Having lost the Chairmanship of the Finance and Social Services Committee, Nakuti again contested for Chairmanship of Production committee against Catherine Wamatabo representing Bundesi Sub County. Wamatabo however, took the Chairmanship after garnering 21 votes against Nakuti’s 19.


According to Patrick Kibeti, the acting Bududa district communication officer, the Technical services position was retained by Alex Murami.


Milton Kamoti, the Bududa district LCV chairperson, has urged those councillors who lost the elections to work together with those who won for the development of the district.


Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights