NGORA COUNTY MP SAGA: MP Abala to Sue EC Over Alteration of Election Results


By John Ogulei




The Ngora County Member of Parliament, David Abala has threatened to drag the Electoral Commission over what he termed ‘alteration of election results.’


Abala who spoke to the Media on Wednesday Morning 24th February 2021 at Soroti High Court premises told journalists that he is in in final consultations with his legal team.


Abala revealed that his Team is soon filing a court petition over the alteration of results that saw Electoral Commission declare NRM’s Juliet Achayo Lodou as winner of the January 14th Polls.


The Electoral Commission through its Spokesperson, Paul Bukenya early this month declared Achayo as newly elected Member of Parliament for Ngora County overturning the earlier decision by the Ngora District Returning Officer, Peter Toddu who announced Abala as winner.


In the earlier declarations of 15th January, Abala was declared winner with 8,317 votes against Achayo who got 7,828 votes. But the results from 11 polling stations were not computed.


According to Bukenya, after the final tally of all 65 polling stations in Ngora County, they found that Achayo was the winner with 9,517 votes beating Abala who got 9,226votes.


But to Abala, the decision by the Electoral Commission to announce the runner-up wasn’t proper and he will soon lodge a complaint in courts of law.


“Am not contented with the decision of EC and we shall definitely file a petition soon,” said Abala.


Abala told the media that he is certain he will win the petition because he has enough evidence where some of the declaration forms were altered.


“We have evidence and we shall ask EC to produce their Declaration Forms that they used for declaring Achayo winner. This one is not my only war but for the people of Ngora and Teso at large. I want to inform you comrades I will win this case,” added Abala.


“Am not out of time, I still have many days. Achayo was declared on the 17th and I still have time. The constitution allows an aggrieved party to file a petition within 30 days of declaration of results,” noted Abala.


MP Abala has up to 17th March 2021 to file his petition.


Paul Bukenya however when contacted said that the Electoral Commission through their legal team is prepared to handle such grievances.


“As a Commission we are aware that there are people who won’t accept the outcome of the results and we are prepared,” said Bukenya.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button