Teso, Buganda Voted Out In NRM National Youth Flag bearer Elections


By Markson Omagor




The National Resistance Movement (NRM) Party has concluded election of its flag bearers to the National Youth Council


In the primaries held at Kyandondo Plot 10 yesterday 3rd November, the Northern region took the lion’s share of the posts with 5, followed closely by Western Uganda that took 4.


Interestingly though, Teso sub region and Buganda failed to have a single youth elected.


Teso Sub region is where FDC’s Patrick Oboi Amuriat hails from whereas Buganda is also home to Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu both of whom are strong political opponents of NRM’s President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni.


Blaise Kamugisha from Isingiro district went through as flag bearer for Chairperson, deputized by Rakibu Kiyimba from Mayuge district in the Busoga sub region.


The Flag bearer for the position of General Secretary is Wilson Otto from Agago district found in Acholi sub region.


Other flag bearers originating from Northern Uganda include; Sam Ogwal from Alebtong (Secretary for Finance), Pasquine Angiro from Lira City (Secretary for Students’ Affairs) and Moses Kidega from Gulu district (Secretary for Labour).


The other 3 flag bearers from Western Uganda are; Mercy Kanyesigye (Secretary for Legal Affairs), Reagan Collins Byaruhanga (Secretary for External relations) and Mackline Asiimire (Secretary for Sports).


Moroto managed one position in the person of Gady Epitu for Publicity whereas Bukedi got Hajara Musenero, Secretary for Female Affairs.





Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button