BREAKING! President Museveni Drops 3 in New Electoral Commission Appointments

By Our Reporter




President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has appointed new members of the Electoral Commission.


In a letter dated 5th January, 2024 and addressed to the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Anitah Among, President Museveni maintains the Electoral Commission Chairperson, Justice Simon Byabakama Mugyenyi and his deputy, Hajjat Aisha Lubega. Hon. Stephen Tashobya has also been re-appointed.


The President has dropped Ms. Nathaline Etomaru, Al-Haji Sebaggala M. Kigozi and Mr. Emorut James Peter replacing them with Dr. Sallie Simba Kayunga, Anthony Okello, Pamela Etonu Okudi and Robert Kasule Ssebunya as Members of the Commission.


The previous term ended on 7th January, 2024. The new team will now operate till 7th January, 2031.


The previous commission organized and conducted Administrative Units (LC 1 & II) Elections in 2018, Women Councils &Committees Elections in 2018, General Elections 2020/21 (Presidential, General Parliamentary and Local Gov’t Councils.


The Commission also conducted thirty-nine (39) Parliamentary by-elections Twelve (12) District Chairperson (LC 5) by-elections, and By-elections for seven hundred and sixty-two (762) lower Local Government Council positions.

Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights