LocalMain TesoNews

KATAKWI: Obukui Elected Chairperson of LC3’s Katakwi district

Benjamin Epeduno



The Local Council 3 Chairpeson of Akoboi Sub-County, Ngariam county, Obukui Jerome has been elected Chairperson of all LC3 Chairpersons of Katakwi.


Obukui was elected yesterday, 3rd March, 2023 by a group of 15 Chairpersons who turned up for the meeting presided over by Mr. Omeri Morris, the Principal Town Agent for Katakwi Town Council.



“We are very determined to support Obukui Jerome following his lobbying skills and we steadily hope he will remove the mess of under development through advocating for the welfare of his colleagues,” Hon. William Omeke the LC3 chairperson of Ongongoja sub county said.



The LC3’s said, the team must work with all leaders irrespective of their locations and political affiliation in order to bring development.


Obukui is the LC3 of Akoboi sub-County under Ngariam county boarding Toroma and Usuk counties in Katakwi District.


Mr. Omeri who was the returning officer  said the elections were free and fair as 15 votes were cast.


Hon. Obukui Jerome got nine votes (09) against his oponent Hon. Elvis Ojula the LC3 for Katakwi sub county who garnered six (06) votes only.  Katakwi has 20 LC3s but only 15 showed up.


Obukui is an NRM Diehard and Ojula is independent (FDC leaning) but crossed to NRM on 28th January 2023 when the speaker of parliament Rt. Hon Annet Anita Among came for a fundraising in katakwi.


Obukui advised the LC3’s to continue promoting government programes whenever they are in gatherings hence asking Ojula to work with him as a team.


Ojula in his response said, they will make sure they promote the agenda of the common person.


Omeri unlished the executive the line up as follows;

1-Obukui Jerome -the chairman,

2-Obwanlinga Kizito Benard-vice chairman

3-Winnie rose Otwao-secretary

4-Okot simon Peter- treasurer

5-William Omeke -Publicity

Other members include, Elvis Ojula, Eilor David, iteit moses, egwarat Martin,  aporu John, ikabat charlse,Iremaut moses, Okello, Aruo and others.

Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights