JUST IN: Police Council Swears In 11 New Members


By Our Reporter



AIGP Abel Kandiho taking oath

The 27th Uganda Police Force Council meeting which is concluding today, 24th November, 2023 has sworn in eleven new members of the Police Council.


The new members who took the oath of allegiance today, 24th November are; Assistant Inspector General of Police, AIGP Abel Kandiho.


Others are; ACP Katuuma Rusoke, ACP Patrick Mutome, SSP Lameck Kigozi, SSP Moses Nanoka and SSP Rogers Sseguya.


SSP Gertrude Temanya, ASP Julius Jokkende, SSP Joab Wabwire, Sgt. Julius Turyagyenda and Sgt. Geoffrey Wamukota complete the list of the new 11 members of the Police Council.



The Police Council among other things is responsible for recruitment, appointment and promotion of police officers up to the rank of Inspector of Police (IP)


Other functions of the police council are to exercise disciplinary control over all police officers through the police courts, to advise the police authority on the ranks structure in the force, and to formulate terms and conditions of service of members of the force subject to approval by the police authority.


It also formulates and establishes standards of recruitment and training within the force, determines the types and quality of equipment and supplies to be procured by the force, formulates and advises the police authority on the policies of the force and ensures the implementation of that policy.


The Council is also mandated with the function of ensuring efficient organisation and administration of the force; and to ensure that the force is of a national character and composition.


The police council may appoint a committee from among its members to assist it in the performance of its functions and may assign to it such functions subject to such conditions and restrictions as the Minister may think fit.

Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights